Duplicate Agency Records

As a site manager I work with HUNDREDS of nonprofits who are posting their volunteer needs on our site. I often have this issue where an agency contact doesn't know they already have an agency account (or we might have an old inactive account) so they create a new agency record.  I either end up approving it or making it inactive and then activating an older account - it depends on which listing has the most current info, # of needs and # of fans.  So sometimes I have to "move" some info from one agency acct to another and make sure just one agency is active (thus making all other duplicates inactive.)  Not to mention this is adding a lot of "junk" data into the system.

I hope this is making sense!  I understand deleting user, need or agency records is frowned upon (and why) and we don't have the ability to delete. So is there a way to "merge" duplicate records somehow so not to lose any info from either record/multiple records??  Maybe this is a feature request?

Thank you!

1 Comment

Hi Katie,

Thanks for sharing this question!  Although the software doesn't have an automatic way of finding duplicate agencies, I definitely have some suggestions on how to get ahead of any possible duplicate agencies. I made a short video to show how best to do this. I can't guarantee a change to the software, but would you help me bring attention to this idea by posting this in our Product Suggestion Forum

Here is how I would recommend staying ahead of duplicate agencies:

1. In the "Agencies" area, click "Date Added" twice so that the most recently added agencies appear at the top of your list. 

2. Type a keyword from the agency title in the search box and press enter. This will show any agencies with similar titles. 

3. The site admin can then reach out to the agency managers of the duplicate agencies to determine if the agency has experienced turnover.