Public Release Date: July 26, 2022
Intro to the Enhancements
In this release, we focused on the enhancements that impact ALL Galaxy Digital client sites and include:
email opt-in/opt-out options
the ability for users to view/export all their personal data stored on Galaxy Digital's servers
the ability for users to make their data anonymous when they deactivate their account.
These enhancements were designed to comply with the European Union’s General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR), the strictest data privacy protection regulation in place today. This functionality will also ensure compliance with Canada’s Protection of Personal Information and Electronic Documents Act (PIPEDA). The US does not have federal-level regulations and is regulated at a state-by-state level. To date, the following US states have implemented strict data privacy regulations with ~30 states pending: California, Colorado, and Virginia.
Adjusting a user’s email preference
Site managers cannot adjust a user’s email preferences without assuming the user’s role. This is to ensure that users are primarily the ones managing their email preferences, but site managers can still make those changes on behalf of the users as needed. The option to opt-in/out is no longer visible from the Site Manager’s view of the User Settings unless they assume the user’s role.
Anonymize deactivated accounts
When a user deactivates their accounts in the volunteer’s Edit Profile area, an option to anonymize appears. When a user anonymizes their Personal Identifiable Information (PII), site reports will not show their first name, last name, and email address. Reports for hours and responses management will show [inactive/anonymized] in place of the user’s PII.
You will now see the country selector wherever a zip code field appears, including under Needs, Agencies, Create Agency Form, etc.
Download all account data button
You will now see an Export My Data button in the volunteer’s Edit Profile area.
System emails and messages
In your account’s Edit Profile area, you will see the option to opt-in/out to receive system emails and messages. Your original selection is kept and respected in the database; however, due to the new affirmative opt-in/out, this area will be cleared from your profile. You can choose to opt-in/out again if you wish.