Note: This article's focus is on the next-generation Service Learning Module (SLM), released by Galaxy Digital in late 2017/early 2018. For information on the old version (Legacy SLM), click here. The SLM is an add-on module and is not part of a standard Connect platform. SLM features are only available to clients who have purchased the module.

"Blocks" are the SLM's default term for academic periods, to encompass the many different terms (semesters, J-Term, May Term, Winter Session, Inter-session, etc.) used by colleges and universities.

Note: If your institution wishes to use a different standard term throughout your SLM platform, please contact our Customer Care team to request a language override.

It is recommended but not necessary to create blocks before adding courses, needs, etc., to your SLM platform. A course can be added to a block at any time (and needs can be added to a course at any time), regardless of when the course was created.

This article explains how to access the blocks-management area and begin adding blocks to your site's SLM. For further instructions on managing blocks and adding courses, see Related Articles at the bottom of this page.

Accessing the Blocks-Management Area

Your Connect site has a user groups feature, where multiple individuals can be added to a single group that can be assigned specific needs. In the SLM, each user group function as a course or other student group. Because blocks are related to courses, you must access them by first going to the area for managing user groups:

  1. From your site manager panel, go to Volunteerism > User Groups.
  2. Select Blocks, just below the Manage User Groups heading.

You are now ready to begin creating and managing your site's SLM blocks.

Adding or Editing a Block

Once you have accessed the blocks-management area, you will see an Add New Block button and a table of any existing blocks.

  • Click the Add New Block button to create a block
  • Click on an existing block title to edit a block

Complete the fields provided, described in the table below.

FieldDescription
StatusOptions are Active, Pending, and Inactive. If a block is pending, the block and its related courses will not appear in the instructors' and students' SLM portals.
TitleProvide a block title (for example, "Spring 2018" or "First Summer Session 2018").
Start DateSelect the block's start date. This date is for informational purposes only.
End DateSelect the block's end date. This date is for informational purposes only.

Click the Create Block or Update Block button as applicable to submit your changes.

How Blocks Appear to Connect Site Users

If a block is active, then students and instructors can access it, along with their assigned courses, in their student and instructor portals, respectively. Here's an example of the Spring 2018 block as it appears in a sample student portal. In this screenshot, the "User Groups" heading has been overridden by "Courses & Groups."

Blocks also show up on the agency manager's Time Tracking form if the hours are related to an SLM user group.

Related Articles

Check out the following articles for more information managing your site's SLM platform effectively.